## SIDE LETTER AGREEMENT Chairperson Election for Academic Units Comprised Exclusively of **Temporary Faculty**

The current side letter agreement on the Procedure for Electing a Department Chairperson permits only regular faculty members to vote for chairpersons. For departments where temporary faculty members make up the majority headcount of the department, a procedure for chairperson election is contained in the CBA.

This side letter enables those academic units comprised exclusively of temporary faculty to conduct a chairperson election.

All academic units comprised exclusively of temporary faculty members must follow the approved side letter Procedure for Electing Department Chairpersons, with the exception that "temporary full-time faculty members employed for the full academic year" be substituted for the phrase "regular faculty" in the Procedure. This exception shall be in force so long as the academic unit is comprised exclusively of temporary faculty members.

Nadene L' Amoreaux Date

President of IUP-APSCUF

Timothy Moerland

Two the S. Moule I

Date

Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs