# IUP Department of Defense Cyber Service Academy Program Meeting Minutes August 28<sup>th</sup>, 2024 - 11:15 AM

### Attendance:

- Meeting began at 11:15am
- Attended By: Dr. Waleed Farag (PI), Dr. Soundararajan Ezekiel, Jared Giesen, Noah
  Oberholtzer, Evan Crooks, Julia O'Brien, Thomas McGillan, Carina Warr, Dylan Timbrook,
  Noah Grattan, Allison Stiteler, James Saylor, Logan Reddinger, Shari Hoch, and Nicholas
  Kuech

#### **Announcements:**

- Confirmed that scholarship recipients received email regarding status of the official award
- Announced that the official award has been received by the college
- Confirmed that the tuition waiver will be submitted following the add/drop period, which includes the stipend and tuition cost

#### Discussion:

• Confirmed the following students have x credits (maintaining full-time status):

Thomas McGillan - 13

Nicholas Kuech - 16

Noah Oberholtzer - 14

Carina Warr - 17

Allison Stiteler - 15

Logan Reddinger – 12

Dylan Timbrook – 13

James Saylor – 12

Noah Grattan-- 13

Evan Crooks – 13

Shari Hoch – 16

Jared Giesen—13

Julia O'Brien – 12

 Returning scholars and new scholars were paired together to handle peer-mentoring for the program

- Acknowledged new book allowance of \$500 per semester
  - Scholars can use the book money by designating co-op store purchases as 'scholarship' and selecting 'DoD' as the funding source
- New Scholars should email Dr. Farag a link to their desired PC specs for official approval
  - After approval and purchasing, keep receipts to be reimbursed up to \$1650
- Confirmation that the deadline for health insurance coverage has passed and every scholar declined
- Scholars are to email Dr. Farag with their hours if they are actively employed somewhere during the school term and comply with the 20-hour limit.

## **Conclusion:**

- The next meeting is scheduled for 11:15am on Monday, September 30<sup>th</sup>
- Meeting concluded at 12:16pm

Respectfully Submitted by Evan Crooks and Dr. Waleed Farag