Distinguished Alumni Award

  • This award recognizes IUP alumni by bestowing the highest honor presented by the university and the IUP Alumni Association to individuals who have reached the pinnacle of a distinguished career or have demonstrated loyal and sustained service to the university.

    The College of Health and Human Services would like to recognize this year’s awardees:   

    James DillJames Dill ’77 is deputy chief, Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General, and he is the first employee in the history of the agency to begin as an intern and rise to his current role, which is the highest achievable career rank in the 300-agent division. He is founder and chief executive officer of Innovative Technology and Investigative Solutions, providing training and consulting to police, victim advocates, educators, and students in more than a score of states. He has also worked with state officials to upgrade security in the Harrisburg Capitol complex.

    Edward KellerEdward Keller ’74, president and CEO, Beaumont Foundation of America. Originally from Waynesboro, now living in Texas, he spent 28 years in law enforcement, starting with the Maryland State Police and retiring as an FBI agent. In that time, he received numerous honors and awards for outstanding investigative work and for his leadership skills. He also serves as president and CEO of the Albert and Gena Reaud Guest House, which provides accommodations for families of Beaumont area hospital patients. The Beaumont Foundation seeks grant-making opportunities that enrich the lives and enhance the futures of less fortunate children and youth, families, and the elderly. To date, the foundation has distributed more than $160 million in grants.

    Past Distinguished Alumni

    Mildred Gregory Grundy ’33

    Barbara E. Lauffer Harkins ’73

    Arlene E. Fleck-Kokales ’75

    Dorothy Holmes Leasure ’41

    Hester A. Munden ’38

    Karen Askey Owens-Pote ’67

    Dorothy Beale Hunter ’41

    Jim D. Wooding ’77

    William J. Herbert III ’73

    Grace Thomas Grainger ’56

    Mary Jane Miller Tuttle ’47

    David C. Frye ’79

    Helen C. Hall ’69

    Ann Smith Pentz ’78, M’81

    Susan Snell Delaney ’64

    The Honorable Jack E. Wagner ’74

    Colonel Glenn A. Walp ’79

    William J. Malley ’75

    Sylvia A. Escott-Stump ’74, M’80

    Sam Sandora ’79

    Bethann Fetzer Cinelli ’80

    Kimberly Brown Moore ’74, M’75

    Michael A. Staub ’80

    JoAnne M. Dechert Youngblut ’77

    Sally L. Stroup ’78

    Victoria L. Aimino Rich ’71, ’79

    Daniel J. Larkin ‘82

    Stephen J. Pasierb ’84, M’86

    Jeffrey A. Shockey ’80

    Susan K. Sandbach Mellott ’73

    Jeremy W. Critchfield ’93

    The Honorable Jay A. Costa, Jr. ’79

    Bonnie Harbison Anderson ’80

    Marla Prizant Weston ’80

    Sharon Tahl Cowden ’71

    L. Edwin Brown ’77

    Clifford Watson ’74

    Benjamin L. McAdoo ’00

    John Ninosky ’93