IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |


Honorary Degree

John Wetzel

Pennsylvania Secretary of Corrections John Wetzel gave the keynote speech at IUP’s May commencement ceremonies.

IUP awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree to John Wetzel, Pennsylvania’s secretary of corrections, at the May commencement ceremonies.

In Wetzel’s six years in the job, Pennsylvania saw its first inmate population reduction in more than four decades. IUP has also participated in Wetzel’s Time to Lead initiative, which encourages creating opportunities to help students of color meet their educational goals and become leaders.

Wetzel is a member of Harvard’s Executive Session on Community Corrections, tasked with shaping the future of community corrections policy nationwide.

Faculty and Staff Awards

Joann Migyanka

Joann Migyanka ’97, M’01, D’06 received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching. She is a faculty member in the Department of Communication Disorders, Special Education, and Disability Services and co-director of the Labyrinth Center, which supports IUP students with autism spectrum disorders.

David Lorenzi

David Lorenzi received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Service. A faculty member in the Department of Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science, he developed and directed the IUP Special Needs Activity Program, a physical activity program for people with disabilities.

Mary Beth Leidman

Mary Beth Leidman received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Creative Arts. A professor in the Department of Communications Media, she has written, produced, and hosted the award-winning IUP Talks since it began airing on IUP-TV in 1995.

Bitna Kim

Bitna Kim received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Research. She is faculty member in the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, and her research has included international issues in crime, gender and crime, and the unequal treatment of minorities in the criminal justice system.

Raj Murthy

Raj Murthy M’90, M’08, D’14 received a Staff Service Award. As assistant dean for technology in the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology, he played a key role in Eberly projects including the Trading Room and the Bloomberg, Networking, and NeuroMarketing labs.

Michele Norwood

Michele Norwood M’92 received a Staff Service Award. Assistant vice provost for Undergraduate Student Success, she has provided leadership in efforts including the Academic Success Center Task Force, the Council of Associate/Assistant Deans, and President Michael Driscoll’s Inauguration Committee.

President’s Medal

Tim Rupert ’68 received the IUP President’s Medal of Distinction for professional achievement. The President’s Medal is the highest non-degree award the university presents. Rupert served on the Foundation for IUP Board of Directors for 11 years, five of them as president, and is now a director emeritus. He is a 2001 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Hall of Distinction

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology inducted three alumni into its Hall of Distinction during the 38th annual Business Day in April:

  • Don Haddad ’79, senior vice president, Citizens Bank
  • George Bartha ’83, director, Infrastructure and Application Operations, Bayer Business and Technology Services, LLC
  • Susan Cosper ’92, technical director, Financial Accounting Standards Board

Goldwater Scholarship

Kara McClain, an IUP nursing major and a student in the Cook Honors College, became the seventh IUP student to receive the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. A McNair Scholar, McClain has won numerous awards as an undergraduate and has conducted research on tick-borne diseases.

Nationally Recognized

  • IUP’s online Master of Science in Food and Nutrition program was 15th in Affordable Colleges Online’s rankings of best online nutrition master’s programs.
  • The BSEd in Spanish Education K-12 program received full recognition from the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages.
  • AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) International has reaffirmed the accreditation of IUP’s Eberly College of Business and Information Technology.