Eight Student Win Pig Iron Scholarships

Posted on 12/17/2010 4:03:10 PM

Eight IUP students have won internal scholarships to attend three days of classes with Pig Iron Theatre of Philadelphia.

Pig Iron Theatre specializes in ensemble created works like its production of Chekhov Lizardbrain, which was performed at IUP in November.

Pig Iron Theatre has a residency this year with IUP’s Department of Theater and Dance through a New Directions Grant written by Fine Arts Public Events Director Hank Knerr. Pig Iron’s core ensemble of Gabriel Quinn Bauriedel, Dan Rothenberg, and Dito van Reigersberg was recently recognized with a prestigious USA Knight Fellowship from the Knight Foundation.

Ben Savory, Caitlin Collins, Christopher Anthony, Emily Perry, J. Casey Cunningham, Kelly Sandok, Natalie Palamides, and Samantha Fabiani will travel to Philadelphia with professors Rick Kemp and Brian Jones on December 18–21, 2010.

Classes and project work with Pig Iron is part of the ensemble’s new initiative to add an educational component to its company.