IUP Faculty Recognized at Center for Teaching Excellence 2015 Awards Dinner

Posted on 5/12/2015 3:52:17 PM

To recognize and support outstanding faculty members and teaching associates, the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) offers awards that recognize teaching excellence and a commitment to our students. Many faculty were awarded for excellence in teaching at the CTE Faculty Recognition Awards Dinner, held at the Rustic Lodge on April 23, 2015.

Center for Teaching Excellence Faculty Recognition Awards of $500
(click link for descriptions of each award):

Maha AlawdatMaha Alawdat

English, Doctoral student in Composition and TESOL
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Award Category: Teaching Associate

Crystal Machado

No Picture Available

Professional Studies in Education
College of Education and Educational Technology

Award Category: Pedagogical Research

Jeanine Mazak-KahneJeanine Mazak-Kahne

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Award Category: Experiential Education

Gloria ParkGloria Park

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Award Category: Content Pedagogy

Theresa ShellenbargerTeresa Shellenbarger

Nursing and Allied Health
College of Health and Human Services

Award Category: John Woolcock Teacher/Scholar for Reflective Practice

Melissa SwaugerMelissa Swauger

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Award Category: Experiential Education

Teaching Circle Mini-Grants (click link for descriptions of each mini-grant) were awarded to:

  • John Chrispell, Francisco Alarcon, Tim Flowers, Charles Lamb, Dan Radelet, and Ed Donley; Immersive Education with the Oculus Rift
  • Michele Crytzer, Theresa Calderone, and April Daras; Using Undergraduate Student Actors as Standardized Patients in Clinical Labs: Applying Theory into Practice
  • John Levey, Christine Clewell, Linda Jennings, Therese Wacker, and Jason Worzbyt; Evaluation of Ear Training Software for Theory Skills Courses
  • Paul Arpaia, Christine Baker, Alan Baumler, Lynn Botelho, Erin Conlin, Soo Lu, Jeanine Mazak-Kahne, Scott Moore, Elizabeth Ricketts, and Wang Xi; Creation of a Resource Library for Digital History & Online Teaching
  • Shijuan "Laurel" Liu, Crystal Machado, Robert Sweeney, David Loomis, Yongtaek Kim, Daniel Wissinger, Huachuan Wen, and Kelli Jo Kerry-Moran; Teaching with Mobile Devices: Cross-disciplinary Exploration at IUP
  • Tracey Cekada, Wanda Minnick, Eric Nelson, Helmut Paschold, Laura Rhodes, Jeremy Slagley, Jan Wachter, and Majed Zreiqat; Active Learning Strategies for Safety and Health Educators
  • Bryna Siegel Finer, Lynn Shelly, Maha Alawdat, Rachael Warmington, and Oriana Gatta; Material Resources in Teaching Liberal Studies English

Active and Active Plus certificates were awarded to 101 faculty members for their attendance at Reflective Practice Large Group meetings and Saturday workshops, and for participation in Teaching Circles.