Faculty Ensemble Releases Album

Posted on 1/19/2016 8:37:14 PM

Eastern StandardEastern Standard is pleased to announce the release of a new digital album. Eastern Standard is comprised of Heidi Lucas (horn), Zach Collins (tuba), and Jacob Ertl (piano). Lucas and Collins are faculty members in the IUP Department of Music.

The recording is eponymously titled and features seven works for horn, tuba, and piano trio that have not previously been recorded. Three of the works (“Fragments II” by Christopher Wiggins, “Big Sky” by Frank Gulino, and “Jam-Bourrée” by Anthony O'Toole), were commissioned by the members of Eastern Standard. The album also includes works by Charles Ingram, Gary Kulesha, Elizabeth Raum, and James Stephenson. The album is available on Bandcamp, Spotify, iTunes, Amazon, and other online retailers.

The recording was made possible through a grant from the Indiana University of Pennsylvania Senate Research Committee. The project was completed in collaboration with faculty and interns from the Center for Media Production and Research in the Department of Communications Media. IUP Professor of Percussion Mike Kingan is also featured on the recording.