IUP’s Model European Union Delegation Wins Award

Posted on 11/11/2018 1:25:29 PM

A team of four IUP students participated in the 26th annual Mid-Atlantic Model European Union simulation in Washington, D.C. from November 8 to 10, 2018.

IUP Model EU Team with Netherlands Ambassador.Representing the Netherlands, each of the students take on a specific “alter ego” from Dutch politics: Kelsey Lewis (senior, international studies major) was Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte.  Nathan Beatty (junior, international studies major) was the Dutch Foreign Minister, Stef Blok. Evan Marino (sophomore, social science education major) was Minister Carola Schouten as Minister of Agriculture, Nature, and Food Quality; and Rashedatu Ope (sophomore, international studies major) was a member of the European Parliament, Annie Schreijer-Pierik.

IUP's Model EU team before competitionThe students began with a highly informative briefing and a tour at the Netherlands Embassy by First Secretary Willem van de Riet, then spent two days working on a directive by the student-led European Commission covering military and security affairs and environmental issues.

On Saturday, November 10, the final day of the simulation, Evan Marino was honored by being selected for the James A. Blessing Award for the Outstanding Minister in the Environment Committee. This is the second time an IUP student has won the award; Tyler Gongola won the award in 2014.

IUP has been participating in the annual Mid-Atlantic Model European Union simulation since 2010.

IUP Model EU teamDepartment of Political Science