Music Students Create Virtual Ensemble to Record New Composition

Posted on 4/2/2020 9:45:56 AM

As a way to join together as an ensemble during the COVID-19 pandemic, members of the IUP Tuba and Euphonium Studio recorded a new composition by Department of Music faculty member Zach Collins.

Regarding the recording, Collins said, “I am incredibly proud of these students. Once it became clear that we would not be returning to campus this semester, I composed an ensemble piece, ‘Together,’ for the members of the Tubaphonium Ensemble. Each student recorded their own part at home using whatever devices they had available to them. I stitched their recordings together to create this video.

“This group had already given some fantastic performances this semester, including during Gregory Fritze residency in February and their spring concert in early March. They were preparing to host Tubaphonium Day and perform at the Northeast Regional Tuba Euphonium Concert. I am sad for them that they did not have those experiences, but I have been heartened by their resilience and collaboration in the weeks that we have been away. I could not be more proud of the students in the IUP Tuba and Euphonium Studio and look forward to working them again in person.”

The members of the 2020 IUP Tubaphonium Ensemble are: Brandyn Berwager, Isaiah Buzdygon, Kayla Holsopple, Evan Honsel, Jay Mills, Josh Olarsch, Dylan Opalinski, Dureena Pierce, Tyler Roland, Glen Schum, Mikayla Vangelo, and Ben Wilcox.