Eberly Business Honors Students take Leadership Trip to D.C.

Posted on 11/30/2009 3:57:33 PM

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology recently sponsored a Leadership trip to the Washington, D.C., area for sophomores and juniors in the Business Honors Program on November 12, 13, and 14, 2009.

the twenty-seven students had the opportunity to view the White House and then participate in an interactive program titled American Free Enterprise—Dream Big at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. The students were briefed on the Dream Big initiative, which then opened up an informal discussion on some of the most important issues being faced today: jobs, job creation, innovation, and the free enterprise system. The morning program started off with breakfast, followed by roundtable discussions, moderated group discussions, and finally remarks by former secretary of education Margaret Spellings. The students also had a chance to take part in a potential advertising video commercial for the Dream Big initiative.

Honors students then visited the Heritage Foundation, where Nicola Moore, an assistant director in the Roe Institute for Economic Policy Studies, spoke on President Obama’s Pledge for Entitlement Reform.

Friday afternoon also included a visit to the Pentagon Memorial and a personalized one-hour tour of the Pentagon.

On Saturday, students were free to visit museums, monuments, and other historical places according to their interests. Feedback from the trip has been highly positive, and plans are to sponsor a leadership trip each year for Business Honors students.

Business Honors Washington, D.C., Trip

Business student participants included: Akshay Bajpai, Tabitha Barrick, Robin Beisel, Martin Blaschok, Elizabeth Bonelli, Daniel Burnett, Raymond Edward, Maria Flecher, Jesse Frailey, Joshua Frankenfield, Jess Hull, Brittany Johns, Casey Kowchuck, Laura Leach, James Naunas, Alex Pfeffer, Erin Puko, Sara Rice, Stephanie Shimmel, Mark Sestini, Matthew Swackhammer, Sandra Tobin, Travis Walker, Andrew Welch, Christopher Wenrich, Matthew Wilking, and Lauren Young.