IUP a Founding Student Chapter Institution for Association for Information Systems (AIS)

Posted on 1/13/2010 2:24:20 PM

The Association for Information Systems recently announced the formal induction of AIS student chapters in 2009. IUP is one of twenty-four founding student chapter institutions worldwide.

Dr. Micki Hyde, MIS and Decision Sciences Department, was instrumental in having IUP included as one of the founding student chapter institutions.

When AIS started fifteen years ago, its goal was to become the premier association for the information systems discipline. By adding students directly to the community, AIS was embarking on a new era of growth and opportunity.

Founding schools, including IUP, will be able to participate in the first of many upcoming benefits for belonging to the association. The first major benefit is the 2010 AIS Student Chapter Awards. These awards will recognize the accomplishments of our students and provide awards to schools with the best student chapters.

Founding Student Chapter Institutions

  • Temple University
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • San Jose State University
  • University of North Texas
  • Georgia State University
  • Wright State University
  • University of Memphis
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • University of Illinois-Springfield
  • City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
  • University of Michigan-Dearborn
  • Clemson University
  • Florida State University
  • Kennesaw State University
  • Helsinki School of Economics, Finland
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Delaware
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Carnegie Mellon University-Qatar
  • Northern Kentucky University
  • University of Technology, Jamaica