Foundation Announces New Officers, Board Members for 2010–2011

Posted on 6/17/2010 4:31:08 PM

The Foundation for Indiana University of Pennsylvania, a nonprofit corporation designed to receive and manage private support donated to the university, announced the newly elected officers and members of its board of directors for the 2010–2011 fiscal year.

Timothy Rupert

Timothy G. Rupert, of Poland, Ohio, was elected president. Richard D. Caruso, of Meadow Lands, was elected vice president, and Frank C. Kinter, Jr., of Indiana, will serve a second term as treasurer.

The elections were held during the annual meeting of the board of directors.

“Timing is now critical to forge ahead with new emphasis on building philanthropy to strengthen IUP,” Rupert said. “There are many opportunities for our alumni, friends, and donors to provide private gift support for initiatives such as expanding endowment for scholarships, graduate fellowships, faculty professorships and chairs, as well as our athletic programs. The strongest universities are those that have an array of giving partnerships with individuals, corporations, businesses, organizations, and private foundations, locally, regionally, and nationally. In the budgeting climate we are experiencing, philanthropy can make all the difference in ensuring educational excellence at IUP.”

Rupert, a 1968 graduate of IUP, is a director of Calgon Carbon Corporation and is the former president and CEO of RTI International Metals, Inc., both of Pittsburgh. He received the IUP Distinguished Alumni Award in 2000. He has been on the Foundation for IUP board since 2005 and most recently served as vice president.

In his role as president, Rupert leads the Executive Committee of the board. He also serves as co-chair of the Residence Hall Project Committee and as a member of the Investment Committee.

G. Daniel Prushnok, of Indiana, served as the Foundation board president for the past two years. Prushnok will continue to serve as a member of the board.

Caruso, a 1983 IUP graduate, is a managing director for Huron Consulting Group, at which he specializes in assisting companies in restructuring and turnaround matters and frequently serves in interim management roles for his clients.

Kinter has been a member of the board since July 2006. He serves on the Executive and Finance and Investment committees. A graduate of Penn State University, he is an account manager at Ameritas.

Two former board members were elected to three-year terms: William R. Shipley, of Allison Park, a 1975 graduate, and Terry Dunlap, of Pittsburgh, a 1981 graduate.

Shipley is executive director of Thorp Reed & Armstrong LLP, Pittsburgh office; Dunlap is president of Allegheny Ludlum Corporation in Brackenridge.

Shipley formerly served as the IUP Alumni Association board of directors liaison.

New to the board is J. Todd Good, of Indiana. He is owner of Good & Associates Insurance, a Nationwide Insurance agency.

Board members returning for a second term include Caruso; Marla Sabo, of New York City, a 1979 IUP graduate; and Larry “Buzz” Wood, Jr., of Strafford, a 1990 IUP graduate.

Andrew Stephenson, of McLean, Va., a 1972 IUP graduate, has been re-elected for a third term on the board.

Other ongoing members include Lorna M. Abernathy, of Washington, D.C., a 1983 IUP graduate; David G. Antolik, of Indiana, a 1988 graduate; Thomas W. Gathers, of Orlando, Fla., a 1977 graduate; Timothy J. Kronenwetter, of Indiana; Rebecca J. Lamperski, of Sewickley, a 1990 graduate; Sue A. McMurdy, of Indiana, a 1978 graduate; James B. Renacci, of Wadsworth, Ohio, a 1980 graduate; Dr. Ruth A. Riesenman, of Indiana, a 1964 graduate; Frank Roberts, of Punxsutawney; Randall “Louie” Sheetz, of Hollidaysburg, a 1977 graduate; and. Dr. Yong S. Colen, a member of IUP’s Mathematics Department, who serves as a non-voting faculty advisory member.

Thomas C. Curtiss Jr., of Haverford, serves as a non-voting member of the foundation’s Investment Committee.

Board leadership also recognized several members who are leaving the board: Dr. Lynn A. Botelho, a professor in IUP’s History Department, who served in the role of University Senate advisory member; Cecelia Mackey, of Indiana; and Suzanne Marie Teele, of Pittsburgh, a 1982 IUP graduate and owner and strategy consultant of Aceda. Teele served as the liaison to the IUP Alumni Association board of directors.