PASSHE Board Recognizes Former President

Posted on 7/23/2010 3:30:29 PM
PASSHE Board of Governors recognizes former IUP president Tony Atwater on July 23, 2010

The Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education Board of Governors on July 22, 2010, presented Tony Atwater, former president of Indiana University of Pennsylvania, with a resolution of appreciation for his contributions to IUP.

The resolution expressed the board’s “sincere appreciation for the many contributions Dr. Tony Atwater has made to public higher education and to the education of students” at IUP.

Atwater served as president of IUP from February 1, 2005, to June 30, 2010.

“It has been an honor to serve the students, faculty, staff, and administrators of IUP. I very much appreciate the expression of confidence in my leadership and the board and the chancellor’s gratitude for my accomplishments at IUP,” Atwater said.

The resolution, signed by Board of Governors chairman Kenneth Jarin, recognized IUP’s enrollment and significant academic growth during Atwater’s tenure and his initiation of “several academic enrichment programs designed to promote student success, including the Common Freshman Reader program, the university Undergraduate Scholars Forum, the First Commonwealth Endowed Lecture Series, and the Center for Civic Engagement and Student Leadership.”

Atwater was recognized for the completion of major campus projects during his tenure, including renovation of Cogswell Hall, the renovation and construction of the IUP Performing Arts Center, and, with the support of the Foundation for IUP, the student housing replacement project known as the Residential Revival.

Atwater also was recognized for helping to “raise the stature of both Indiana University of Pennsylvania and the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education as a member of the International Student Exchange Program’s board of directors and the American Council on Education’s Commission on Lifelong Learning.”

In the photo, from left: Mackenzie Marie Wrobel, Representative Michael Hanna, Jamie Lutz, Marie Conley Lammando, Representative Matthew Baker, Jonathan Mack, chairman Kenneth Jarin, Tony Atwater, Harold Shields, Chancellor John Cavanaugh, vice chairman C.R. “Chuck” Pennoni, Leonard Altieri, Joseph McGinn, John Brinjac, and Thomas Sweitzer.