The Center for Teaching

Excellence thanks

YOU

for your interest and participation in the Reflective Practice Project and CTE programming.

A special
Thank You
to the

Provost's Office

for sponsoring and encouraging teaching excellence at Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Center for Teaching Excellence

Faculty Recognition
Dinner

April 23, 2024

Center For Teaching Excellence

Survey

As we begin to prepare for next year's offerings, we are seeking your input regarding which services you would and most beneficial for the CTE to offer in supporting you in your professional role.

Please consider providing your feedback by completing this survey by May 3rd, 2024. Survey completion will take between 10 – 15 minutes.







Instructional Technology **Award**

This award recognizes outstanding course design that incorporates instructional technology.

Todd Thompson

Department of English

Content Pedagogy Award

This award recognizes course design which is especially effective in teaching content within a particular discipline.

Tim Hibsman

Department of English



5:30 p.m. – Arrival & Refreshments

5:40 p.m. - **Welcome**

Rachel DeSoto-Jackson Director, Center for Teaching Excellence

Introductory Remarks

Dr. Lara Luetkehans Provost

5:50 p.m. - **Dinner**

6:30 p.m. - Award Presentations

Teaching Circle Mini-Grant Awards

Janet Blood

Associate Director of Reflective Practice

Reflective Practice Recognition

Meigan Robb Co-Director of Assessment

Active & Active Plus Certificate Awards

Faculty Recognition Awards

Theresa McDevitt **OER & Innovation Awards**

Lingyan Yang

Temporary Faculty & Inclusive **Excellence Awards**

Christina Huhn

Instructional Technology & Content Pedagogy Awards



The Center for Teaching Excellence thanks

The Allenwood

for hosting this year's recognition dinner!

Thank you

Chef Jeff Santicola and the students of

HOSP 413 - Restaurant Food Production & Service:

Jillian Brinling

Victoria Brosch

Zayann Cobb

Samantha Huffmyer

Nora Kelly

Genna Kirpa

Sarah May

Hayley Mueller

Benjamin Neill





Inclusive Excellence Award

This award recognizes the design and implementation of strategies that respects students' differences and/or makes diversity central to the intellectual content of courses taught.

Erin Conlin

Department of History

Tanya Heflin

Department of English





Teaching Excellence for Temporary Faculty Award

This award recognizes the valuable contributions of temporary faculty.

Stephanie Keppich

Department of Communications Media

Center for Teaching Excellence Leadership Team

Rachel DeSoto-Jackson Director

Jacqueline McGinty Associate Director of Instructional Design

Janet Blood Associate Director of Reflective Practice

Theresa McDevitt Co-Director of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Veronica Paz Co-Director of Online Teaching and Technology

Sudipta Majumdar Co-Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

> Meigan Robb Co-Director of Assessment

Advisory Board

Holly Olexo, Co-Chair Provost's Representative

Kalani Palmer, Co-Chair Professional Studies in Education Parimal Bhagat

Eberly College of Business

Rachel Porter Fox

College of Education and Communications

Craig Denison

College of Arts and Humanities

Christina Huhn

College of Arts and Humanities

Sandra Janicki

IUP Libraries

Sadie Miller

College of Health and Human Services

Theresa McDevitt

Co-Director of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

IUP Libraries

Sharon Proctor

School of Graduate Studies and Research

Lingyan Yang

College of Arts and Humanities

Shagufta Haque

Undergraduate Student Representative

Abreeya Darda

MSCLE Student Representative

Graduate Assistants



OER / Affordable Learning Solutions Award

This award recognizes excellence for faculty curators, creators, and adopters of Open Educational Resources or affordable educational resources.

Yong Colen

Department of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Innovation Award

This award recognizes the use of techniques, methods, materials, technologies, or tools outside traditional teaching practices.

Jana Villemain

Madia Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics, and Engineering

Reflective Practice Recognition

Active Plus Members

Dawn Smith-Sherwood Farheen Mahmood Meigan Robb Rachel DeSoto-Jackson

Teaching Circle Mini Grant Award Winners

Full statements available on the CTE Website

"Tom Lake: Books for Big Ideas"

Members: Bryna Siegel Finer, Daniel Pintos, Oksana Moroz, Leo Yan, Melanie Holm, Dawn Smith-Sherwood, Lynn Botelho, Zeeshan Siddique, Oksana Moroz, Aleea Perry

"Using Digital Tools to Enhance Faculty's Ability to Write and Mentor Graduate Students"

Members: Kelli Jo Kerry Moran, Crystal Machado, Mimi Benjamin

"Improving Student Feedback"

Members: Lora Hromadik, Elaine Little, Rebecca Zolocisk, Lori Trimble, Teresa Gongloff, Rebecca Smith, Lauren Succheralli, Ben Martin

"Putting Out the Flame of Student Burnout"

Members: Meigan Robb, Kristy Chunta, Taylor Edwards



Full statements available on the CTE Website

"Engaged Learning Practices Teaching Circle"

Members: Mimi Benjamin, Julie Ankrum, Rachel Sternfeld, Terilyn Huntington, Elaine Little, Dawn Smith-Sherwood, Sadie Miller, Dawn Smith-Sherwood, Sadie Miller

"Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence with a Jetson Nano Board"

Members: Samuel Grieggs, John Chrispell, Francisco Alarcón, Rick Adkins, Channa Navaratna, Raj Ezekiel

"Increasing Student Engagement in an Academic Makerspace"

Members: Sharon Massey, Sean Derry, Ben Ford, John Lipinski, Erick Lauber

"Use of AI Technologies in Language Teaching and Learning"

Members: Jean-Louis Dassier, Lydia Rodriguez, Marjorie Zambrano, Dawn Smith-Sherwood, Heide Witthoeft

Reflective Practice Recognition Active Members

Aleea Perry Alessa Juarez Alida Merlo Anson Long Ben Ford Benjamin Martin Bill Schleicher Bryna Siegel Finer Crystal Machado Dan Weinstein **Daniel Pintos** Flaine Little Erin Clark Gian Pagnucci Isaac Adubofour Jacqueline McGinty Janet Blood Janis Barner Jenna Hennessey Johanna Boothby Kaitlynn Sass Kelly Jo-Kerry Moran Kristy Chunta Lara Homsey-Messer Laura Knight Lauren Succheralli Leo Yan Lisa Newell

Lizoon Nahar

Reflective Practice Recognition Active Members

Lora Hromadik Lori Lombard Lori Trimble Mahrukh Hamid Melinda McIsaac Mimi Benjamin Nada Tayem Nicole Clark Oksana Moroz Pao Yina Hsiao Rebecca Zolocsik Sadie Miller Sandra Janicki Sean Derry Shannon Phaneuf Sharron Massey Shijuan Liu Stephanie Davis Susan Sibert Tanya Heflin Tara Johnson Taylor Edwards Teresa Gonaloff Theresa McDevitt Timothy Runge Vanessa Gutierrez Veronica Paz Willa Black William Farrell

Center for Teaching Excellence Services

For more details about activities,
please see the
Center for Teaching Excellence website:
https://www.iup.edu/teachingexcellence/

Academic Advising

Advisor Advocate Bulletin
IUP Advise

Instructional Design Support

Faculty Consultations
D2L Pedagogical Support

Teaching Resources

IUP SPARKS

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Summer Academy
DEI Teaching Circles

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Book Raffles
Large Group Meetings
Resource Documents
OER Support